Night weaning = Night mare

So I’ve had a long standing wish now to stop feeding the Imp at night. Now that I dissect that wish, I realise I’d been making a fatal assumption that if he stopped feeding, he would stop waking. WRONG! In fact, not feeding makes things worse. I have been desperately trying to feed the Imp back to sleep for a few nights now and he won’t have it. He won’t feed. And he won’t sleep. I have realised I have no other tricks up my sleeve. Feed or nothing. And so, the Imp has been awake. Why was I in such a hurry to night wean? The Imp doesn’t wake for milk. He wakes simply because he wakes.

6 Responses to Night weaning = Night mare

  1. finngarianmama says:

    Oh, that’s so hard!! Sounds like my son. He night weaned himself just as I was newly pregnant with DD, but that didn’t stop the nightwaking. It didn’t matter! The good news, is, he now sleeps straight through for 11-12 hours per night, but he’s almost 3 years old… Baby Boo has taken us into a whole new level of nighttime hell lately so I’m right there with you…

    Go back to sleep, Imp!!!

  2. Zosia says:

    Grnadmother Always Knows Best
    I remember a story my grandmother used to tell about a lady in her village (got to have a village in the story for that truly folk-authenticity vibe) who wanted to go to a ball, so she made a syrup from poppies and fed it to her daughter so she would sleep through the night while the dancing queen got her groove on. Worked a treat, except the little girl slept for three days. Maybe worth a shot????

  3. Yes! Morphine to the rescue! (If not the drug, perhaps the band? They’ve got a deep dark nighttime vibe…hmmmm…)

    What a bummer. I think Pitter is teething again and he’s been up 3-5 times per night again (was down to 1 or 2 times) this week. I have read that babies, like adults, just wake up in the night but many just can’t resettle and go back to sleep without wanting some attention. I think that co-sleeping makes it worse becacuse if you’re right next to them and they’re awake, they have no reason to go back to sleep. I have no advice, just sympathy.

  4. amberjee says:

    I’d really like to get my groove on. But I’d also like to sleep for 3 days. I think I’ll try the poppy syrup myself!. sympathy is good. i’d given up on advice long ago.

  5. brambledoula says:

    I don’t know about most people but I often wake up myself a couple times a night. I think the difference is just hanging in there until they get to an age where they can wake up without needing you!! (Even better when they can get to an age where they can wake up, set your coffee pot, and not need you…)

  6. amberjee says:

    I look forward to when they wake up, set my coffee pot AND make me scrambled eggs (and not need me). Now that is an investment dividend worth waiting for …

Leave a Reply

