What next?

I was thinking this morning, after another 90 minute waking in the middle of the night, ‘when will all this end?’……… I normally remain quite positive, despite having a sleep debt larger than a small mountain, so what’s different today?

The answer?…. I don’t know to be honest, I guess it’s what Tamdin would call a SDD, Self Doubt Day. I guess I just figure that I should be doing something to get my sleep phobic bubba to sleep……..but I’ve tried most things, so what else can I do? I know Controlled Crying works for some families, but it’s not for us.

So instead of focusing on what I should or shouldn’t be doing, I decided to turn my attentions to the task of finding something positive about having a non-sleeping baby. This is what I came up with:

I have a 13 year son who is in year 9 at secondary school. Now he was a dream of a baby and slept through from 3months old, bliss! However, picture this, forward wind 13 years to a Monday morning (although to be fair, he’s like it every morning) with me shouting at him every 10 minutes to get ready and DS with his  head under the covers, trying to catch a few more Z’s, arrgghhh………..

he is an absolute nightmare in the mornings. At least when the buddha bubs is awake, she’s AWAKE!! I’m  thinking that this means it will  continue when she starts school, so at least i’ll have a positive side to having a rubbish sleeper!

6 Responses to What next?

  1. swizzler says:

    Can you try putting DD in DS’s room to wake him up?

  2. amberjee says:

    Ha, brilliant thinking swizz!

  3. finngarianmama says:

    I have LOTS of SDD’s… OH MY do I ever… they are always pretty miserable too. I guess having a 13 year old kid in the house keeps this baby stuff in perspective… I can’t even begin to imagine mine at 13 years old. I think Swizzler’s idea of putting the kids together is great! The smiley one can wake up the grumpy one!

  4. tibsy says:

    EXCELLENT idea Swizz!!!! He would want to be up in no time to protect all of his things, hmmm.
    thanks fingarianmama, i guess i just dont like ahaving SDD’s, but have to accept that you just do some days :- )

  5. Always look on the bright side, could’t imagine having a 13 year old and bubs

  6. tibsy says:

    laura, it certainly keeps me on my toes!! ;- )

Leave a Reply

