8 random things about me

Ok, halfpintpixie hit Tibsy and I with a tag, so here’s my part for what it’s worth …

 8 random things about me

  1. I ditched the corporate world in favour of teaching yoga, and now it seems that I’ve ditched everything in favour of hanging out with a super cute 7 month old. Now I never want to ditch that.
  2. I gave birth at home in 4 hours. It seems in retrospect that that was the easy part.
  3. One of my secret pleasures is going to the movies by myself. Not that I’ve done that in 7 months.
  4. I spent 3 months in India getting up pre-dawn to throw my body around a yoga mat for a few hours and then recover by drinking excessive amounts of chai. It was weird to just relive some of it myself here.
  5. I like to cook. Sshh, don’t tell anyone. My favourite part is grinding spices in my mortar and pestle or smashing up basil in it with a little olive oil.
  6. I love London but I miss home. I love London because of all the little villages, the fact that I never have to go very far to get what I need and see people I know. I love that the staff of the local french cafe all know my name and invite me to their childrens’ birthday parties. I love the guy in the shop who sneaks me cake and pastries because he doesn’t like his boss. I love the Indian ladies in the health shop who give me free pears from their tree and have wonderful unlabelled homemade curries in the freezer for those times I’ve lost the energy to cook.
  7. I love the smell of second hand bookshops. It is like history is cluttered in the shelves and between the pages.
  8. I will give up anything for my breastfeeding son, but not my daily coffee.

Will that do halfpint? I know you added a bonus points number 9, but I can’t think of any right now. I’ll edit it if I think of something super.

So I will tag:

 if you care to play.

7 Responses to 8 random things about me

  1. excellent amberjee, i too am unable to give up my daily caffeine-hit, it’s tea for me, but it’s such a pleasurable time out, I love it!

  2. You are one cool girlie, amberjee. (And I say this because we have some things in common…Ha!…I did hot yoga for years in my 20s, insisted on one cup of coffee while pregnant and still do, post-birth, and am thinking about sneaking out for a movie this afternoon by myself for the first time in over a year! )
    I’m going to tag myself and jump on this meme today, too.

  3. amberjee says:

    Brilliant! Look forward to reading it. I think I’m going to go see Waitress next week at the mum and baby screening. It’s not by myself, but well, I hope the Imp likes it.

  4. […] August 17th, 2007 in Uncategorized I’m jumping on today’s meme over at Sleep is for the Weak, which is a great website based out of London (I believe) about nursing moms missing […]

  5. finngarianmama says:

    I played too, you can see it at my blog, hope I did it right!! (I just lost my tag virginity!!!)

    By the way, don’t worry about the coffee. It’s no problem! 🙂 I have mine each day too. This morning I had some good Lebanese coffee with cardamom. Love shopping at Habib’s!!

  6. tibsy says:

    well done amber, i didnt know what to do, not a techie like you ;- )
    i too LOVE second hand bookshops and the smell of books, new and old. if you catch someone in the corner of a shop with their nose deep in the cover of a book, thatll be me!!!

  7. amberjee says:

    well, it’s your turn now tibs! 😉

Leave a Reply

