Feeding to sleep. Why not?

I felt I just needed to write this after putting my little girl down for her nap and share with you some motherly love.

Well meaning advice suggests you stop feeding to sleep in order to prevent it from becoming a ‘habit’ or a crutch at somepoint in the future. I didn’t follow this advice as much to my dismay baby Ninja stopped falling to sleep while feeding on her own accord. (Then, panic striken, I would spend ages trying to get her to sleep by some other method, eventually relenting and using a dummy but that’s a whole other story. Anyway, I digress.)

I have just put a very tired baby down for a nap and for the first time in ages she fell asleep feeding and it struck me as I gazed at her beautiful and contented face that feeding to sleep is one of the few luxuries you have as a mother of a tiny baby and you should celebrate it and be allowed to enjoy. In my opinion it is one of those beautiful bonding moments that is over all too soon. I understand that some older babies struggle getting back to sleep if they’re not suckling but leave worrying about that bridge if you need to cross it in the future. It doesn’t happen for everyone.

3 Responses to Feeding to sleep. Why not?

  1. amberjee says:

    I LOVE FEEDING TO SLEEP. I’m just going to get out there and say it. I love it. I love it. I love it. My little Imp is so rarely calm, always wiggling about, feeding to sleep is the one time I get to hold him when he is peaceful and look at him all beautiful, sleepy and milky.

  2. wolfmama says:

    Firstly, thanks for inviting me to your blog. Secondly, what a lovely post, one which rings true for me. I’m not a religious person, but the word angel always comes to mind when I see my beautiful son sleping in my arms, usually whilst feeding. Nursing to sleep has to be somehthing nature intended rather than a sin to be avoided don’t you agree?

  3. bookthief says:

    Me too! I love it, and I love that I can get ds back to sleep quickly by feeding him at night. I’m meeting his needs, making him happy, being as close to him as it’s possible to be… It’s a shame that if you admit that you do this though so many people throw their hands up in horror. Oh well, if it’ll make them happy, now that he’s older the ol feed to sleep trick fails more often than it works 😦

Leave a Reply

